Obsessions and Recessions: The Cream Blush

For ages I refused to scrimp on makeup that touched my actual skin (spending my student loan on Elizabeth Arden and Clinique seemed bizarrely sensible at the time), but I’ve come to really appreciate the cheap and cheerful products which litter those aisles where no white smocked lady dares to tread.

Bourjois Cream Blush is one such product. I know it’s not new – Ruth Crilly reviewed it last June – but it’s new to me and something’s always new to someone, right?ย  Before this, I never really got on with cream blushes. They felt too greasy and somehow managed to either evaporate into the air or soak into my pores, leaving me looking as pale and sullen as I did before rouging-up. My previous attempt was Illamasqua’s cream blusher which, though highly pigmented, has a kind of shiny translucency I’m just not a fan of. I’m not looking for coverage from my blusher, but neither do I want a shiny stained-glass window that, for all it’s vibrancy, reveals the unevenly pigmented skin beneath. The Bourjois cream blush is different. Being of the ‘cream to powder’ variety it ends up looking like the beautiful lovechild of a dewy cream and a finely milled powder. Just lightly pat on to create a subtle, even flush and layer up if you wanna look all hot under the collar (in a sexy way, obvs).

Photo as promised…

20140414-113721.jpg

Leave a Reply

